Hosted by Swift Communications


Demon City Shinjuku

Demon City Shinjuku
Animation - 5.6
Sound - 4.2
Story - 4.4
Character - 4.1
Value - 3.0
Enjoyment - 4.3
Average - 4.3

Reviewed 10 times Statistic Help |  Review it


User Review
Jump to page   of 1  

De Baer    2007-09-27 21:10:22
Average 2.0
Animation 5
Sound 3
Story 1
Character 1
Value 1
Enjoyment 1
Urgh…schon wieder so ein abgrundtief schlechter Film, der mich von Anfang bis Ende nicht nur ohne Ende gelangweilt sondern regelrecht gequält hat. „Demon City Shinjuku“ überbietet sich ein ums andere mal in Sachen Lächerlichkeit und Einfallslosigkeit, von der mehr als schlecht aufgezogenen Handlung inklusive Plotholes en Masse und den Charakteren die dünner sind als Luft mal ganz abgesehen. Schon als ich den Anfang des Films sah wo sich irgendein böser Dämon der mal wieder irgendwas beherrschen will mit der letzten Hoffnung der Menschheit, in Form eines Schwertmeisters mit spirituellen Kräften, kabbelt war mir klar das ich hier nichts weiter als die übliche Dämonen vs. Auserwählter Held-Klamotte vor mir habe. Der Held der Geschichte ist der Nachfahre des großen Helden von anno Tobak und kann sich seiner Verantwortung, in dessen Fußstapfen zu treten, natürlich nicht entziehen als der fiese Bösewicht nach 10 Jahren wieder auftaucht um seinen bösen Plan zu vollenden. *gäääääääähn* -_- Lächerlicherweise ist er mit nichts außer einem popeligen Holzschwert bewaffnet und kämpft damit gegen einen aus dem Nichts auftauchenden Dämon nach dem anderen. Ich dachte mir nur „Mensch, gebt dem Jungen doch wenigstens ein RICHTIGES Schwert, das würde ihn nicht nur wenigstens eine kleine Spur cooler machen sondern die ganze Schose immerhin ein kleines bisschen näher an die Seriosität führen…“ Zum Verlauf der Handlung gibt es kaum etwas zu sagen: Held irrt durch die Stadt, besiegt ein paar Monster und steht am Schluss dem Obermotz gegenüber. Wie mies das Skript ist, lässt sich beim Showdown besonders gut feststellen: Der Held wird besiegt und fällt in irgendein Loch, alles scheint verloren doch, OH WUNDER, er ist genau an den Ort gefallen wo ein heiliges Schwert (und es ist WIEDER aus Holz *LOL*) im Boden steckt, zieht es heraus und BAM hat er den Fiesling auch schon besiegt und das mit der urplötzlich in ihm erwachten Spiritpower von Papi!!! Ja ich weiß, das hört sich dumm und ohne Ende an den Haaren herbeigezogen an aber genau SO passiert es! An den Charakteren kann man auch kein einziges gutes Haar lassen, denn diese sind komplett platt und langweilig. Eigentlich brauch der Film für die gesamte dürre Story nur die Figuren des Helden und des Bösewichts, aber es werden noch weitere Charaktere eingefügt die keinerlei Daseinsberechtigung haben und auch nichts beitragen was auch nur in kleinster Weise etwas zur Gesamtsituation beiträgt. Der weibliche Sidekick des Helden ist ständig nur am herumwimmern wie fies das doch alles ist, und wozu der Typ im roten Trenchcoat mit den langen schwarzen Haaren da ist, außer einen auf obercool zu machen, weiß am Ende niemand. Ich weiß noch nicht einmal mehr wie die ganzen Figuren heißen, gibt es ein deutlicheres Armutszeugnis als das? Fazit: „Demon City Shinjuku“ ist nichts als langweiliger, unkreativer und ohne Ende peinlicher Bockmist den sich niemand antun sollte, es sei denn man ist Masochist!


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Amilo-D    2005-04-17 16:51:08
Average 3.5
Animation 5
Sound 1
Story 4
Character 6
Value 2
Enjoyment 3
Bad? no.. this one is beyond bad. It was horrible in a not-so-scary way (T_T)

Animation was veery barely watchable. I know it's old, but there are animes with much better animation from same time. Ok special fx and rather good motion.

Sound = Worst i've ever heard.. It was dubbed on top of that. Too vulgar language for no apparent reason. Music was non-existent, yet horrible where ever it was present.

Story is standard stuff, if you've seen/read/played Darkstalkers, you know what it's about.

On whole, this was boring, vulgar and almost painful to watch.. It's waste of money, time and even bandwidth..

So if you really want something to watch, better pick Vampire Hunter D (original) or Darkstalkers Revenge OVA then this movie.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Thomas(akaTammo) (2007-01-24 18:24:20)   2005-02-17 22:10:28
Average 4.0
Animation 7
Sound 4
Story 4
Character 3
Value 2
Enjoyment 4
3 minutes. That's how long it will take You to see what Demon City Shinjuku is. Hell, even one minute should be enough. When I see a guy with a sword on top of the skyscraper facing the other guy armed likewise, and their fight begins with a jump so high, that one can put another skyscraper on top of the first one than it's quite easy to tell the genre, isn't it?

Well then - here it was. In this fight Shinjuku (district in Tokyo) becomes Demon City Shinjuku and the victor of the fight - it's ruler - is one year later challenged by some brave ones in order to do what? Of course, save the world. Because like You did not know, world must be saved by beautiful girl whose skills are incredible if it goes about diplomacy and giving official dinners, and one guy who knows how to swing boken. Army? Why - after all, what can a pistol or even a chopper do what good boken wielder cannot...

So I think You know WHAT to expect.
Now there is this little thing. HOW they actually pulled this through and if this is WORTHY of You watching it.

Well they SOMEHOW pulled it through and it IS NOT.

Onto details then.
::More from this review::

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

jerikstorebo    2004-11-09 16:34:13
Average 5.7
Animation 6
Sound 5
Story 5
Character 5
Value 6
Enjoyment 7
I found this to be better than Wicked city. The action I found more interesting, the plot was a bit more suspenceful. The monsters more interesting. Like Wicked city however, this is not a movie for people who are not satisfied with action only, and people who must have interesting plots or characters. But if you can take a standard action-plot and just enjoy the fighting, it's worth watching, but not much more. I mean, there's nothing new or any "The Scene" to talk about, and it's all wrapped up pretty mediocre. At least one of the guardian monsters was more interesting than MAin Bad Guy.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

OberonBob    2004-09-29 22:58:59
Average 5.0
Animation 7
Sound 6
Story 5
Character 4
Value 3
Enjoyment 5
BadGuy wants to take over the world, via demon invasion. Goodguy 1 dies tried to save the world. Goodguy 1's son(Goodguy 2) takes up the mantle with some help from Earnest Girl.

They fight demons. Will Goodguy 2 win? Will Goodguy 1 help somehow from beyond the grave? Will there be a bit of gratuitus nudity, and a silly little kid side-kick?* Will Goodguy 2 and Earnest Girl kiss at the end of the move?

If you know the answers to those question, you don't need to the flick.



(*)no, the side-kick does not provide the nudity!


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

the original mr e (2005-03-30 19:24:09)   2003-12-12 19:21:59
Average 5.7
Animation 6
Sound 6
Story 7
Character 6
Value 4
Enjoyment 5
SIMILAR TO: Wicked City

Saw this a long time ago under the title "Monster City".

I remember it being alright, but nothing amazing. Wicked City is a lot better.

The technicals - visuals, sound - are above average, but have a dated feel to them now.

The story is good, and invloves a journey to fight the big bad badguy, as many flicks do.

The characters are above average, but don't really form any really connection with the viewer.

This movie has a below average replay value mainly because of it's age and seemingly lack of experience. An average affair, but worth a look.

I'd write more (usually), but I can't recall too much about this film - I saw it TOO long ago.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

I PwnedZor JoOo!!    2003-07-30 05:32:45
Average 6.3
Animation 7
Sound 6
Story 6
Character 7
Value 6
Enjoyment 6
Ah yes, one the first demonic type of genre anime's I have seen. I remember watching this 9 years ago.. geeze how times fly....O_o..

Anyway I have forgotten a lot of the film, but I can recall enjoying it for the most part. The animation was alright, afterall it was made in 1988.

The story wasn't deep but was good enough to sustain it for one movie. I felt the story had potential but was let down by the rather erupt ending.

The characters are ok.. not great bur alright. I watched the sub version so that was ok, you people should try and avoid dubs that were done on animes this old..lol... =P

Overall this anime was...OK... definately A LOT better than other demonic anime's I have seen.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

guinness4life    2003-06-27 01:28:38
Average 1.8
Animation 1
Sound 1
Story 3
Character 1
Value 1
Enjoyment 4
Horrible anime riddled with plotholes. The dub has the worst dubbing I've ever heaRd and is unintentionally hilarious (hence the 1 in audio). This is such a bad film. Monster design reminds me, curiously enough, of Devilman. I was laughing through most of the film because its just so absolutely wretched. The animation looks like something that would have barely made it to TV in 1979 and is just plain ugly. So bad it's almost good. If you want to watch good anime, avoid this stinker like the plague.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Azn Man    2003-05-18 23:25:42
Average 2.8
Animation 4
Sound 3
Story 3
Character 3
Value 1
Enjoyment 3
This anime is totally bogus. I almost doubled over laughing my ass off listening to the english dubbed version. Demons trying to rule the world?? Come on, i leave better plots in the toliet after several helpings of chilli for crying out loud! All i know is that its totally out of whack and there's a ton of loose ends. Also the so called "dramatic" ending suddenly...well.. ENDS just like that. Glad i saw this ahead of time because its NOT worth my money.


0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

Yakikorosu (2004-07-10 18:08:16)   2002-06-06 05:07:45
Average 5.8
Animation 8
Sound 7
Story 6
Character 5
Value 4
Enjoyment 5
Some very cool demons... overall though, very unoriginal, and honestly kind of boring.

And whatever you do, do NOT watch the dub.
::More from this review::

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No

User Review
Jump to page   of 1  



Anime and Manga database (AnimeNfo.com)
© 2001-2012 Kevin Lamothe (supers) | Terms and Conditions
Hosted by Swift Communications


banner

Site design by ecxol.net:
ecxol